II. Potato climbing Potato Chip Rock

As someone living in San Diego, there are a list of things that are a must.  Climbing Potato Chip Rock is one of them.  You just gotta do it. And, following suit of many San Diegans, I did.  From all of the hikes that I’ve heard of around the area, I would say that this is the most popular.

Difficulty: 2.5/5
Duration: 3-4 hours
Age Restriction: None.
Would do again?: Yes!

The hike itself wasn’t actually that difficult.  It was just long.  If you keep a good pace, then you’ll be fine.  Don’t rush.  There were people of all ages on the hike and, if you’re a dog lovaaa, there are quite a few of them climbing up the mountain with their owners as well. It’s a hike for everyone.  Just remember to bring an adequate amount of water and some snacks!  It’ll make it more bearable.

To be quite honest, seeing the actual rock on the top of the mountain is underwhelming.  I don’t know what I was expecting, but it looked like a random shard coming out of the mountain which, I guess, is essentially exactly what it is.

Once you get to the top, there’s a queue of people waiting to take photos on the rock.  The line wasn’t too slow when I was there.  I didn’t mind the wait at all.  It let me relax and rest, eat my snacks and rehydrate, and enjoy all the views around me.  Plus, it’s funny watching people pose on the rock.  I wish I had a good photo of it, but we saw this guy do a handstand.  As someone who’s scared of heights, being up there was a heart attack in itself but, man, that guy left all of us in awe.  He even got a well deserved round of applause after.

I definitely wanna do this hike again, but I wanna go before sunrise.  It’d be amazing to see the sunrise at Potato Chip Rock.  Maybe one day.  For now, I plan on tackling all the other hikes San Diego has to offer.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Until my next hike.

Love always, J.

P.S. Irrelevant, but we got carne asada fries after.  A potato climbing Potato Chip Rock and eating potatoes after.  Solid.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

