III. Revived my Spontaneous Spirit

It’s the weekend before finals, what’re you supposed to be doing?  Obviously road tripping up from SoCal with your homies to surprise your best friends in NorCal. Clearly.

It’s been quite the hot minute since I’ve felt like I’ve made a spontaneously dumb decision and I think the trip up to the Bay was a perfect way to refresh my stirring spirit.  I used to do stupid “free spirit” things all the time in high school but after going to college, I went from 17 to 70.  Grandma is in full force, my friends.  It was a short-lived trip (33 hours of actually being in the area), but I got to cross off a few more things on my SF bucket list that I didn’t get to do over summer when I last visited as well as go to iconic places that I had already been and experience them again, sometimes better this time around.

Coming from San Diego, getting up to Berkley was an adventure itself.  Having to drive from school to OC, major car problems that delayed the departure, the hours of driving, more minor car problems, etc.  BUT.  Alas.  I did make it up there in one piece, with Sal and Juan, of course.  And, with the limited time we had, I still got to do so many things well worth the inevitable ding that will hit my finals grades for not studying…at all as hard. #priorities

Golden Gate Bridge

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetI’ve gone to the SF a few times in my life and, of course, have taken photos with the most iconic thing in the entire city: The Golden Gate Bridge.  I decided that this time would be different and I would actually walk on it, and so I did.  Nothing cool, honestly.  Just something I had to do. Ironically not pictured, hahah.  But it happened!

Mr. Holmes Bakehouse

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetAfter seeing all the Instagram posts of this bake shop, it was essential that I had to visit especially since I didn’t have time on my last trip up here.  I didn’t know much about the place besides the photos that I’d seen, but I guess coming here right when it opened would have been ideal in regards to your options in baked goods, but it’s okay. From what was left when I got there, I was pleased with their chocolate pomegranate filled sugar doughnut.  And the photo taking opportunities were just as great with its famous sign and clean, white overall aesthetic.  I’d love to go back to try some of their other stuff.  Maybe next time.

Painted Ladies
Against popular childhood experiences, I wasn’t one who watched Full House, but I still wanted to see the famous “Full House houses” as me among many refer to them as.  I didn’t get  a photo of them because of the lack of parking (shocker) and construction that was being done on the park.  I’m not really sure what kind of work they’re doing on it, but it was fenced off so getting a photo of all the “ladies” would have been impossible anyways.  It was still nice to see though.  Their vibrant colors were a true representation of SF’s personality.

Sutro Baths

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetSutro Baths…part 2, I should say.  When I went over summer, in typical SF fashion, it was gloomy.  Not the entire time.  Specifically when I wanted to go to Twin Peaks and Sutro Baths.  The fog was so thick that I could barely see anything and then it proceeded to raining.  Amazing.  So, in short: no good pictures.  But hey, not this time.  Like I said, it cleared up during the day and was nice and sunny.  Repped my girl in her Berkley crewneck and soaked up the great weather.  I’ve seen some beautiful pictures of Sutro Baths at sunset.  Maybe on my next trip up?  For now, I’m very content with the ones I got. Beautiful lil’ place on the ocean.

Hot Cookie

IMG_1794Like Mr. Holmes Bakehouse, Hot Cookie was another social-media-hyped must for me.  I had to get my hands on their infamous Penis dessert.  Prior to getting it, I honestly wasn’t sure what it was — cake, ice cream, cookie…?  I hadn’t looked into it.  I just knew I had to get it.  Turns out it’s actually a classic coconut macaroon (no, not the little dainty French ones, the other ones) that you can get with either a dark chocolate outer covering or a white chocolate one.  Chocolate was the clear choice for me #chocoholic.  It was pretty good!  Under the chocolate was a semi-crisp layer before you hit the cake layer.  For $8, I would say that it was overpriced, but it’s all about the hype.  The actual store front is pretty small with a few other selected sweet treats, but it’s not too bad and located in the lively Castro District.  Very fitting.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Should I have stayed home and studied for finals?  Hah, yes.  Most definitely.  Did I regret going and possibly costing my grades?  …we will see in a few days when grades come out.  Just kidding. It was well worth being able to surprise 2 of my best friends and doing something mildly reckless with some of the best homies in my life. Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Even now, I should be studying, but decided that finishing this documentation of my weekend was better.  When you’re stressing over a final but decide to use your time to do something other than studying for it.  Oy vey!  Praying to the gods that Karma doesn’t bite my too hard in j’booty.

Until my next adventure.

Love always, J.

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

